Page 2 of 20 <12345>Last »
Topic Options
#59429 - 07/19/02 11:52 AM Re: Being a Librarian
mini-mart
Ching Shih

Loc: Toronto

Just had to post my 2 cents worth.

I'm a librarian's assistant (as far as I can see, the only difference between me and the "real librarians" I know, is the pay...) and I love my job.

Despite what I said, the pay is actually very good, considering I'm a student used to getting minimum wage.

You sometimes get a few weird patrons, but for the most part, it's really wonderful work.

I love having kids ask me to help them find books. Well, i love knowing that kids are reading... and I absolutely love parents who come in and sit down in the children's section to read to their kids. It always gets to me.

My favorite moment so far was helping this man, who was at least 65-70 years old, find books he wanted. He had a vague idea of what he was looking for (books about birds) and after awhile it became clear that he had no idea how libraries worked. After talking with him a little, I found out that he had never been in a library and that he had just learned to read. I helped him pick out a few easy-to-read books on birds and when he brought them back, a few weeks later, he was so proud to have read a book by himself for the first time. At that time, there was a group of summer camp kids coming in and one of them (a girl about 4-5) approached him and said that she had just started to read too, and that maybe, if they picked out new books to read right then, they could help each other with the hard words.

Just thnking about that story, makes me love my job so much.

It's a great job and you meet a lot of great people.

Good luck.

#59430 - 07/19/02 12:13 PM Re: Being a Librarian
voiceofreason
Ching Shih

Loc: Brookline, MA, USA